RSS Feed

Invest in What’s Real

Invest in what’s real, who you really are and how you actually live your life.

I remember wandering aimlessly round the mall one Monday, and I was tempted more than once to fit myself into a size 0 pair of jeans that I spotted in a shop window.  The sales staff said, “Get it now before stocks run out.”

I thought about it for a second, and then I remembered that I couldn’t possibly squeeze myself into that tiny pair and decided I’d rather spend the money on my daughter’s trinkets and toys, a book I’ve long been wanting to read or maybe just save it toward the next trip to the malls.

Photo by Mark Mante

Someone once said we’re happiest when “our decisions most closely match our natures and our values.”

Well, I can relate that to our shopping addiction, err…decisions. Instead of spending money on the things you may have no use for in the future, ask yourself before purchasing anything, “How much do you need it? Will I die longing for it?”

This is a simple way of investing in your day-to-day life, and not feeding your fantasy life uselessly.

About janicesheilah

Online owl by night and professional mom 24/7. Loves peanut butter sandwiches, bedtime stories and Dragon City.

Would you like to send some feedback?

